Air Force Commendation Medal — Military Decorations

Air Force Commendation Medal Medal and Ribbon Design Images

The Air Force Commendation Medal comes with a unique service ribbon, which is worn on the recipient's uniform in situations where the full medal is not worn. If you have earned this decoration, you can wear the service ribbon on your ribbon rack.
Design of the Air Force Commendation Medal

The Air Force Commendation Medal is bronze and hexagonal in shape. On the observe is a shield surmounted by an eagle superimposed over clouds. On the shield bears a pair of flyer's wings and a vertical baton with an eagle's claw at either end; behind the shield are eight lightning bolts. The design on the shield is derived from the Seal of the Department of the Air Force.

What is the Air Force Commendation Medal Decoration?

The ribbon of the Air Force Commendation Medal is golden yellow with blue edges. In the center are three bands of blue, the outer stripes are thin with the center stripe being wider.

The United States military sorts decorations into categories called Classes and Types. The Air Force Commendation Medal medal is classified as a Personal Decoration of the type Commendation Medal.

How Do You Earn the Air Force Commendation Medal?

It is awarded to any member of the US Air Force of other armed forces of the United States or of a friendly nation who, while serving alongside the United States Air Force, has distinguished himself or herself by a heroic act, usually at the voluntary risk of his or her life. The action must not have occurred during combat. The saving of a life or the success of the voluntary heroic act is not essential—however, the action must demonstrate heroism and regard for others above oneself. It is not awardable for actions considered to be part of normal duty—one must go above and beyond expectations of bravery.

Displaying the Air Force Commendation Medal

The Order of Precedence of the Air Force Commendation Medal is 29, and this precedence is used when placing the associated service ribbon on your uniform ribbon rack. You can see a full list of decorations in the order of precedence on the Decorations homepage.

Subsequent awards are denoted by the use of an oak cluster and a “V” for valorous actions in direct contact with the enemy.

The Air Force Commendation Medal is placed after the Joint Service Commendation Medal and the Army and Navy and Marine Corps Commendation Medals and before the Coast Guard Commendation Medal or the Joint Service Achievement Medal.

Air Force Commendation Medal Associated Branches

Air Force

Air Force Commendation Medal Associated Branches

Air Force

Air Force Commendation Medal and the Stolen Valor Act

The Stolen Valor Act of 2013 is a federal law that makes it illegal for any person to falsely claim to be the recipient of certain military awards, "with the intention of obtaining money, property, or other tangible benefit by convincing another that he or she received the award".This decoration is covered by the Stolen Valor act. Fraudulently claiming to have received a Air Force Commendation Medal can result in punishment including a fine, imprisonment for not more than one year, or both

Back to top