Army Sergeant Major of the ArmyE-9 SMA (Previous)
Sergeant Major of the Army

Army Warrant Officer 1

W-1 Warrant Officer, U.S. Army
(Next) W-2 CW2Army Chief Warrant Officer 2
Chief Warrant Officer 2

Army Ranks » Warrant Officer 1 RankWO1 PayWO1 Rank HistoryPromotion Information

How to get promoted to Warrant Officer 1 History of the Army Warrant Officer 1 Rank

A Warrant Officer 1 is a Warrant Officer in the United States Army at DoD paygrade W-1.

The rank and title of Warrant Officer traces its origins to 1896 when the army created the pair ion of civilian clerk as part of the structure of the organization.

During World War I, in 1916, these jobs were designated as military jobs assigned to enlisted personnel. Less than a year later, in 1917, the Army declared through the issuance of a special regulation that soldiers serving in these positions, while still enlisted personnel, could wear the uniform of an officer, thus beginning the ambiguity between officer and enlisted that still plagues warrant officers in modernity.

With the creation of the mine planter service in 1918, the Army officially codified the rank of Warrant Officer. Such soldiers were recognized as experts in their chosen craft.

In 1941, during World War II, the Army further clarified the Warrant Officer rank, creating the rank of Warrant Officer, Junior Grade and Chief Warrant Officer.

The rank and grade of Warrant Officer, Junior Grade gave way to the rank of Warrant Officer, which has held into modern times in the US Army.

The change from Warrant Officer to Warrant Officer 1 came about with the expansion in the late 1940’s of the Chief Warrant rank into several levels.

Want to learn more? Read about the Army's Warrant Officer 1 rank on

History of the Army

The Army is the oldest and most senior among the branches. The Army's heritage is traced back to the Revolutionary War, when each State of the Union had its own Army, lended to the command of General George Washington. Almost 250 years have passed, but the organizational structure and naming is largely the same. The Army is still divided into Divisions, Brigades, Regiments, Battalions, Companies, and Platoons.