Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army) — Military Decorations

Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army) Medal and Ribbon Design Images

The Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army) comes with a unique service ribbon, which is worn on the recipient's uniform in situations where the full medal is not worn. If you have earned this decoration, you can wear the service ribbon on your ribbon rack.
Design of the Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army)

The medal is represented by the Coat of Arms of the United States in gold. It is surrounded by a circle of Dark Blue enamel which is 1 ˝ inches in diameter and engraved with the description, "FOR DISTINGUISHED SERVICE MCMXVIII”.

On the reverse there is a scroll which is to be engraved with the name of the recipient. The cross is over a trophy of flags and weapons. The medal is suspended by a bar attached to the ribbon.

What is the Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army) Decoration?

The ribbon is 1 3/8 inches wide and consists of the following stripes:

  1. 5/16 inch Scarlet 67111
  2. 1/16 inch Ultramarine Blue 67118
  3. 5/8 inch White 67101
  4. 1/16 inch Ultramarine Blue.
  5. 5/16 inch Scarlet.
Additional awards of the Distinguished Service Medal are denoted by oak leaf clusters.

The United States military sorts decorations into categories called Classes and Types. The Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army) medal is classified as a Personal Decoration of the type Distinguished Service Medal.

How Do You Earn the Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army)?

The Distinguished Service Medal is awarded to any soldier who has distinguished himself or herself by exceptionally meritorious service to the Government while working in a duty with greater responsibility. Exceptional performance of a soldier’s normal duty will not alone justify an award of this decoration. For events that occur outside of the realm of combat, the term "duty of a great responsibility" applies to a very narrow range of positions and it requires significant evidence of gallantry. However, justification of the award may accrue by virtue of exceptionally meritorious service in a succession of high positions of great importance. Awards may be made to persons serving in other branches who, during the action in question were working with the US Army, or persons other than members of the Armed Forces of the United States for wartime services only, and only then under exceptional circumstances with the express approval of the President in each case.

Displaying the Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army)

The Order of Precedence of the Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army) is 8, and this precedence is used when placing the associated service ribbon on your uniform ribbon rack. You can see a full list of decorations in the order of precedence on the Decorations homepage.

The decoration is one of the highest awards that can be bestowed upon a member of the U.S. Army.

It is worn after the Medal of Honor, Distinguished Service Crosses, or other Distinguished Service Medals.

Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army) Associated Branches



Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army) Associated Branches



Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army) and the Stolen Valor Act

The Stolen Valor Act of 2013 is a federal law that makes it illegal for any person to falsely claim to be the recipient of certain military awards, "with the intention of obtaining money, property, or other tangible benefit by convincing another that he or she received the award".This decoration is covered by the Stolen Valor act. Fraudulently claiming to have received a Distinguished Service Medal (U.S. Army) can result in punishment including a fine, imprisonment for not more than one year, or both

Back to top