Army Private First ClassE-3 PFC (Previous)
Private First Class

Army Specialist

E-4 Enlisted Soldier, U.S. Army
(Next) E-4 CPLArmy Corporal

Army Ranks » Specialist RankSPC PaySPC Rank HistoryPromotion Information

How to get promoted to Specialist Army Promotion to E-4 Specialist

A Specialist is a Enlisted Soldier in the United States Army at DoD paygrade E-4. This page describes how the Army determines who is eligible for the promotion list to Specialist.

Soldiers holding the rank of Private First Class are promoted to specialist after a minimum of two years of service in the Army. The rate at which a private becomes a Specialist is dependent upon performance record, strong performance demonstrated over time earns quick promotion to specialist, usually exactly at the two year mark, while weaker or inconsistent good performance yields longer time spent as a private trying to earn the Specialist rank.

Exceptions can be made for Privates First Class who have served eighteen months in the Army and six months time in grade coupled with consistent strong performance of assigned individual duties and responsibilities. Commanding officers can recommend Privates First Class of this capacity be promoted to Specialists in advance of the standard two-year mark.

Soldiers enlisting in the Army with a four-year college degree can enter with an automatically earned Specialist rank.

Want to learn more? Read about the Army's Specialist rank on