Army Service Ribbon — Military Decorations

Army Service Ribbon Medal and Ribbon Design Images

The Army Service Ribbon comes with a unique service ribbon, which is worn on the recipient's uniform in situations where the full medal is not worn. If you have earned this decoration, you can wear the service ribbon on your ribbon rack.
Design of the Army Service Ribbon

Army Service Ribbon is comprised of blue, green, yellow, orange, and red color of equal size. No other device is used on the award.

What is the Army Service Ribbon Decoration?

The Army Service Ribbon may be awarded to those personnel who completed the required training before August 1st, 1981, provided they had an Active Army status as defined above on or after the mentioned date. All members of the Army, Army National Guard, and United States Army Reserve in an active reserve status were eligible for the award. Personnel must complete initial-entry training, or for officers, completion of their basic or higher level course. Enlisted soldiers will be awarded the ribbon upon successful completion of their initial MOS producing course. For those personnel who completed initial entry training prior to 1981, the Army Service Ribbon is awarded, provided the personnel was still on active duty after 1981. For those personnel who enlist in the Army after serving with another service (and who may not be required to complete initial entry training), the Army Service Ribbon is awarded after four months of active service. The Army Service Ribbon is presented as a one-time award only since it is not possible to earn it more than once.

The United States military sorts decorations into categories called Classes and Types. The Army Service Ribbon medal is classified as a Training Award of the type Professional Development Ribbon.

How Do You Earn the Army Service Ribbon?

The Army Service Ribbon is awarded to those who successfully completed initial entry training (Enlisted Personnel) or the basic or higher level course (Commissioned Officers) . It is retroactive for completion prior to 1981 for only those who had an active status on that date.

Displaying the Army Service Ribbon

The Order of Precedence of the Army Service Ribbon is 127, and this precedence is used when placing the associated service ribbon on your uniform ribbon rack. You can see a full list of decorations in the order of precedence on the Decorations homepage.

The Army Service Ribbon is attached to the left chest of the military uniform.

Army Service Ribbon Associated Branches



Army Service Ribbon Associated Branches



Army Service Ribbon and the Stolen Valor Act

The Stolen Valor Act of 2013 is a federal law that makes it illegal for any person to falsely claim to be the recipient of certain military awards, "with the intention of obtaining money, property, or other tangible benefit by convincing another that he or she received the award".This decoration is covered by the Stolen Valor act. Fraudulently claiming to have received a Army Service Ribbon can result in punishment including a fine, imprisonment for not more than one year, or both

Back to top